The Community Awards of Mayfair & St James's 2020 at JW Marriott Grosvenor House, London.


The fifth Community Awards of Mayfair & St James's took place at a glamorous ceremony at the Grosvenor House on Tuesday January 21 2019.

Around 550 guests – a mix of local residents, businesses and a few famous faces – attended the event organised by Mayfair Times, the magazine serving Mayfair and St James's for over three decades.

Presented by Alexander Armstrong, the awards celebrated the twin districts' local communities by recognising the efforts of people and organisations that have made a positive contribution to local life.


The prestigious judging panel for the awards included model and entrepreneur David Gandy; GQ editor, London Fashion Week Men’s chairman and Mayfair Times columnist Dylan Jones; restaurateur Jeremy King; designer Amanda Wakeley; David Snowdon (The Earl of Snowdon), chairman of Christie’s; Lilly Newell, executive director of Caprice Holdings and The Birley Group, and Anya Hindmarch.

Actor and presenter Alexander Armstrong is perhaps best known for presenting the BBC's Pointless show and for being one half of the comedy duo Armstrong and Miller.

Headline sponsors were Fortnum & Mason, Grosvenor and Sobha Realty.

Category sponsors were Barbados Tourism; The Birley Clubs; Caprice Holdings; Conrad Family Office; The Crown Estate; Handelsbanken; Hilditch & Key; Maddox Gallery; and New West End Company.

Many local companies gave their support to the awards, including Floris; GC Couture; Georg Jensen; Hay Hampers; Lounge and Linger; Mercato Mayfair; Mount Street Printers; Newton Wood; and Shaftsberries Flowers.

Guests enjoyed canapés from The Grosvenor House, alongside champagne from The Arts Club and cocktails from IT London and entertainment by The Young Guns Trio before leaving with goody bags generously donated by Fortnum & Mason.


The winners were:


Only in Mayfair

Winner – Henry Poole & Co.

Shortlisted – Creed.

Shortlisted – Hancocks.

Sponsored by the Barbados Tourism Board.

Founded in 1806, this tailor protects and promotes Savile Row and the craft of tailoring, while working with fashion brands such as Adidas to keep up with the younger consumer.

Pictured from the left: Simon Cundey, managing director of Henry Poole & Co, Marc McCollin from Barbados Tourism Board, Alexander Armstrong and Alex Cooke, managing director of Henry Poole & Co.


Only in St James's

Winner – Fortnum & Mason.

Shortlisted – The Wolseley.

Shortlisted – DUKES Martini Bar.

Sponsored by Hilditch & Key and presented by Steven Miller.

Fortnum & Mason has been a St James’s institution for over 300 years, and the impact of its continued success on the local community cannot be underestimated.

Pictured from the left, Steven Miller from Hilditch & Key, Simon Thompson from Fortnum & Mason and Alexander Armstrong.


Putting Something Back

Winner – Yasko Kurahachi.

Shortlisted – Gemma Levine.

Shortlisted – Lock & Co.

Sponsored by The Crown Estate and presented by Oliver Smith.

Yasko has been volunteering with the St Vincent de Paul Society soup run, based at Farm Street Church, for over ten years, assisting scores of homeless people every week.

Pictured from the left: Oliver Smith from The Crown Estate, Yasko Kurahachi and Alexander Armstrong.


At Your Service

Winner – Audley Pharmacy.

Shortlisted – Christie's Lates.

Shortlisted – John Timms, Smythson.

Sponsored by Handelsbanken and presented by Roy Budgett.

This independent pharmacy always puts the customer first. As one nominator said: “Their personal service is an asset to the community and the amenity they offer is indispensable.”

Pictured from the left: Roy Budgett from Handelsbanken, Shailendera Amin from Audley Pharmacy and Alexander Armstrong.

Lifetime Achievement

Winner – Sean McDermott, Scott's.

Sponsored by Conrad Family Office and presented by Kelly O'Connell.

Sean is a very familiar face in Mayfair – a part of the glamorous Mount Street furniture. In 1994, he became the first ever doorman at The Ivy, where regulars referred to him as “Mr Pickwick”. After a stint at The Wolseley, he moved over to Scott’s when it reopened in November 2006 and has been there ever since.”

Pictured from the left: Alexander Armstrong, Steve Hutchins on behalf of Sean McDermott from Scott's and Kelly O'Connell from Conrad Family Office.


Commercial Newcomer

Winner – Mercato Mayfair.

Shortlisted – AllBright Mayfair.

Shortlisted – Sabor.

Sponsored by The Crown Estate and presented by Oliver Smith.

Mercato Mayfair is a sustainable community food market in north Mayfair where people can socialise, eat and buy food from artisan producers, and also enjoy a range of community activities.

Pictured from the left: Alexander Armstrong, Vicky Exall and Oliver Smith from The Crown Estate.


Unsung Hero

Winner – Paula Fitzherbert, director of communications at the Maybourne Group.

Shortlisted – Jerry Vinalon, Heywood Hill.

Shortlisted – Jay Vaghela, Lock & Co.

Sponsored by the Maddox Gallery and presented by James Nicholls Chairman of the Maddox Gallery.

Described as “peerless in her work”, Paula is always smiling and professional. An active member of the local community, she is regarded as one of the very best in the business.

Pictured from the left: James Nicholls from Maddox Gallery, Paula Fitzherbert of Maybourne Group and Alexander Armstrong.


Long Service

Winner – Michael de Cozar, The Ritz.

Shortlisted – Tony Higgins, HR Higgins.

Shortlisted – Lance Jefferson, Berry Bros & Rudd.

Sponsored by Caprice Holdings and presented by Daniel Smith – Restaurant Director of Sexy Fish.

Michael has worked at The Ritz for over 45 years!

He is the longest-serving head concierge in the hotel’s history, known for his winning smile, exceptional manners and incredible memory.

Pictured from the left: Alexander Armstrong, Michael de Cozar and Daniel Smith, director of Sexy Fish.


Bright Young Thing

Winner – Caroline Andrew, bespoke tailor.

Shortlisted – Tom Booton, The Dorchester.

Shortlisted – Adele Williamson, Trickers.

Sponsored by The Birley Clubs and presented by Mario Pederzolli – Club Director of Mark's Club and Bath & Racquets Club.

Caroline has been called a “breath of fresh air in a rather old and traditional niche, dominated by men.” She is also involved in community voluntary work to help the younger generation get into tailoring.

Pictured from the left: Mario Pederzolli – Club Director of Mark's Club and Bath & Racquets Club on behalf of Birley Clubs, Caroline Andrew and Alexander Armstrong.


Hospitality Hero

Winner – Rita Gilligan, Hard Rock Cafe.

Shortlisted – Salvatore Calabrese, Brown's.

Shortlisted – Hadi Aknin, Annabel's.

Sponsored by the New West End Company and presented by Jace Tyrrell.

Rita has been wooing customers at the Hard Rock Cafe since 1971. She’s served The Beatles and The Rolling Stones, has danced with Ronnie Wood and been serenaded by Noel Gallagher.

Pictured from the left: Jace Tyrrell from NWEC, James Russell-Jones, GM of Hard Rock Cafe and Alexander Armstrong.


Doorman of the year

Winner – Colin Case, The Beaumont.

Shortlisted – John Thompson, Brown's Hotel.

Shortlitsed – Jim Gardner Burns, Athenaeum Hotel.

Sponsored by the New West End Company and presented by Jace Tyrrell.

A commanding presence on the forecourt of The Beaumont, Colin has been described as “friendly, welcoming, helpful, humorous and, most of all, professional”.

Pictured from the left: Jace Tyrrell from NWEC, Christophe Caron on behalf of Colin Case from The Beaumont and Alexander Armstrong.